Auld Lang Syne: Why every day can be like New Year’s Day

New Year’s Day is the first day of a new year. I get it. Out with the old, in with the new. It’s a fresh start.

But so is tomorrow – whether tomorrow is January 1, 2014, or July 21, 2014.

Every day is a day you can choose to do something differently – choose to not eat that Danish for breakfast, choose to sign up for a team or the gym, or to choose to be more positive. You can make a fitness resolution or food resolution any day during the year, just like you can cut your hair and change your look and re-invent yourself any day you want. You don’t need an occasion to make a change – but heck, you should live every day like it’s an occasion.

Clearly, I’m not a New Year’s resolutions kind of gal. I make goals daily, weekly, and monthly. My daily goals include:

  1. Being more positive.
  2. Doing my best to eat healthy foods.
  3. Doing my best to exercise.
  4. Doing my best to stop feeling like the number on a scale defines me.
  5. Saying “no” to things.
  6. Worrying less.

So if you only make one New Year’s resolution this year, maybe make it this one: Resolve that every day is a fresh start to choose to do things differently, special occasion or not, and don’t beat yourself up if you don’t stick to your resolution – just try again tomorrow.

Happy New Year!

* * * *

I borrowed my New Year’s wish to you from Neil Gaiman, who wrote the best one I’ve ever read – 

“May your coming year be filled with magic and dreams and good madness. I hope you read some fine books and kiss someone who thinks you’re wonderful, and don’t forget to make some art — write or draw or build or sing or live as only you can. And I hope, somewhere in the next year, you surprise yourself.” – Neil Gaiman, 2001.

* * * *

What are your daily goals or New Year’s resolutions?

Leave a comment